Sustainable development in Gabon: For a better management of Gabon's land and natural resources.

KEY FIGURES

A National Land Allocation Plan
to regulate land use in Gabon:

0 USD
invested in the CAFI-Gabon program
0
key actors and partners involved
0
consultation workshops conducted
0
local referents selected
0
villages mapped

KEY FIGURES

The National Land Allocation Commission (CNAT)

In accordance with the political vision of the Head of State, as set forth in the Emerging Gabon Strategic Plan, Gabon intends to regulate the use of its land through a National Land Allocation Plan.

An interministerial commission was thus established by the Gabonese government and placed under the supervision of the Minister in charge of sustainable development: National Land Allocation Commission (CNAT).

Created by Decree No. 00212/PR/MEPPDD of July 21, 2017 to develop the National Land Allocation Plan, it frames and defines land use, guarantees the compatibility of socio-economic activities, environmental integrity and optimization of the management of the country’s natural resources.

PROGRAMS

Since 2017, through the national strategic plan “Gabon Émergent” and its pillar “Green Gabon”, the Gabonese government has initiated a policy of reforms and initiatives for environmental protection, sustainable development and the fight against the effects of climate change. In 2017 Gabon joined the Central African Forest Initiative (CAFI), created in 2015 alongside the United Nations General Assembly and aiming at supporting Central African countries with high forest cover in the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreements, the fight against poverty and the achievement of the commitments of the Global Biodiversity Framework. The partnership brings together a coalition of international funding agencies, six Central African countries, implementing agencies and South-South partners. The challenge is to educe and minimize deforestation and forest degradation while maximizing development co-benefits.

The CAFI-Gabon Program is a true gas pedal of reforms in Central Africa to mitigate climate change, preserve forests, reduce poverty and contribute to sustainable development in 3 phases. The first phase, implemented over a five-year period between 2018 and 2022, provides funding of $18.4 million managed by the French Development Agency (AFD) as an implementing partner.

National Land
Allocation
Plan (PNAT)

National Observation System of Natural Resources and Forests (SNORNF)

News

GABON'S PLEDGE

for a sustainable development

Located in the heart of the Congo Basin known as the planet's second lung, Gabon is one of Africa's largest forest countries: estimated at 23.6 million hectares (2015), its forest cover represents 88 % of the national territory, while the land use and forest change sector alone accounts for 93% of the country's greenhouse gas emissions

0 Million
tons of net CO2 absorption/year
0 Million USD
committed ex ante and payments on results
0
programs funded by CAFI for 30 million USD
0 X
more carbon absorbed than emitted
0 %
of CAFI's investments are directed to Gabon
Environment

Gabon was thefirst African country o submit its Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) for the COP21 in Paris in 2015. These commitments were reaffirmed at the Marrakech Conference (COP 22) in 2016. A commitment to preserving the environment that actually manifested very early, with the creation of a forestry fund as early as 1960 and a Ministry of Environmental Protection in 1972.

With the increasing shortage of oil resources, the use and economic development of renewable resources from forests is a major challenge for Gabon, which is committed to :

  • Reduce the exploitation of its forests to 11 million ha in 2025, compared to 16 in 2018. 2018.
  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the sector of land use, change in land use and forests in Gabon by 50 % (2005-2025)
  • Support the development of projects in key sectors for strengthening the region’s economy, providing a viable alternative to deforestation: improving waterways, building small hydroelectric dams, strengthening soil irrigation systems, developing fishing, fish farming, aquaculture, and developing ecotourism.
  • Encouraging operators to implement management plans or production forests and pushing foresters to extend their rotations from 15 years to 25 years, with lower damage rates, instead of 10 years (2001 Forestry Code).

To do this, Gabon has initiated :

  • The creation in the early 2000s of 13 national parks which have allowed for the sanctuary of 3 million hectares of forest, representing 11 % of the national territory.
  • A National Climate Plan, the climate component of the national strategic plan “Gabon Émergent”, developed after the Copenhagen Conference in 2010 and implemented in November 2013. This Plan, formulated by Gabon’s National Climate Council, sets out short- and medium-term development strategies for sectors of activity with a strong impact on climate change, sectoral strategies for controlling greenhouse gas emissions, as well as strategies to adapt the territory to the effects of climate change (eg: rising sea levels).
  • The creation, in 2014, of a Sustainable Development Fund to finance the realization of programs and projects in line with the principles of sustainable development.
  • The creation, in 2014, of a Central Environmental Directorate in each ministry.
Economy

By allowing Gabon to focus its agricultural development on areas with the lowest carbon and conservation value, the country’s land allocation policy comes to ensure compatibility between territories, resources and socioeconomic activities :

  • One of the main objectives of the national strategic plan “Gabon Émergent” is to lead the country tofood self-sufficiency : by 2020, thanks to the “Graine” program (Gabonaise des réalisations agricoles et des initiatives des nationaux engagés), nearly 850 cooperatives have been formed, 400 independent farmers registered, 1,148 jobs created and 2,600 farmers trained.
  • Optimizing land management directly supports the development of certain strategic sectors for the country, including agriculture, forestry, mining and oil.
Social

Gabon’s land allocation policy, via the PNAT and SNORNF programs, aims to recognize and defend people’s rights to land through :

  • A transparent and equity-based mechanism that addresses all populations affected by land allocation in Gabon: working in close collaboration with the country’s civil society actors, particularly those committed to environmental preservation.
  • A governmental decision-making tool that makes it possible toidentify and secure the rural land domain, and thus avoid land allocation conflicts and the expropriation of local and indigenous populations.
  • An inclusive program that particularly addresses women, youth and vulnerable populations, involving them in the entire solicitation and contribution process.
  • The development of participatory mapping to help secure land for rural and indigenous populations.

Partners

institutional

institutional

Financial

Implementation

Pour une meilleure gestion des terres et des ressources naturelles gabonaises, au service du développement durable.

CHIFFRES CLÉS

Réguler l’utilisation des terres du Gabon
à travers un Plan National d’Affectation des Terres :

0 USD
mobilisés dans le cadre du programme CAFI-Gabon
0
acteurs clés et partenaires impliqués
0
ateliers de consultations réalisés
0
référents locaux sélectionnés
0
villages cartographiés

À PROPOS

La Commission Nationale d’Affectation des Terres (CNAT)

Conformément à la vision politique du Chef de l’État, déclinée dans le Plan Stratégique Gabon Émergent, le Gabon entend réguler l’utilisation de ses terres à travers un Plan National d’Affectation des Terres.

Une commission interministérielle a ainsi été mise en place par le gouvernement Gabonais et placée sous la tutelle du Ministre chargé du développement durable : la Commission Nationale d’Affectation des Terres (CNAT).

Créée par décret n°00212/PR/MEPPDD du 21 juillet 2017 d’élaborer le Plan National d’Affectation des Terres, elle encadre et définit l’utilisation du territoire, garantie la compatibilité des activités socio-économiques, l’intégrité environnementale et l’optimisation de la gestion des ressources naturelles du pays.

Programmes

Depuis 2017, à travers le Plan Stratégique Gabon Émergent et son Pilier “Gabon Vert”, le gouvernement Gabonais a initié une politique de réformes et d’initiatives pour la protection de l’environnement, le développement durable et la lutte contre les effets des changements climatiques. Dans ce cadre, le Gabon a rejoint en 2017 l’Initiative pour les Forêts d’Afrique centrale (CAFI), créée en 2015 en marge de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et visant à appuyer les pays d’Afrique centrale à haut couvert forestier dans la mise en oeuvre des Accords de Paris sur le climat, la lutte contre la pauvreté et la réalisation des engagements du Cadre mondial pour la biodiversité. Un partenariat qui rassemble une coalition de bailleurs internationaux, six pays d’Afrique centrale, des organismes de mise en œuvre et des partenaires Sud-Sud. L’enjeu : réduire et minimiser la déforestation et la dégradation forestière tout en optimisant les co-bénéfices de développement.

Véritable accélérateur de réformes en Afrique Centrale pour atténuer les changements climatiques, préserver les forêts, réduire la pauvreté et contribuer au développement durable, le Programme CAFI-Gabon est déployé en trois phases distinctes. La première phase, mise en oeuvre sur une durée de cinq ans entre 2018 et 2022, apporte un financement de 18,4 Millions de Dollars gérés par l’Agence française de développement (AFD) en tant que partenaire d’exécution.

Plan National
d’Affectation
des Terres (PNAT)

Système National d'Observation des Ressources Naturelles et des Forêts (SNORNF)

La CNAT dans la presse

Engagements du gabon

Une visée environnementale, économique et sociétale.

Situé au cœur du second poumon de la planète, le bassin du Congo, le Gabon est un des plus grands pays forestiers d’Afrique : estimé à 23,6 millions d’hectares (2015), son couvert forestier représente 88 % du territoire national, tandis que le secteur de l’utilisation des terres et le changement de l’utilisation des terres et des forêts représente à lui seul 93 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du pays.

0 Millions
de tonnes d'absorption nette de CO2/an
0 Millions USD
engagés ex ante et paiements sur résultats
0
programmes financés par CAFI pour 30 millions USD
0 X
plus de carbone absorbé qu'émis
0 %
des investissements de CAFI sont dirigés vers le Gabon
Engagements environnementaux

Le Gabon est le premier pays africain à avoir présenté sa contribution prévue déterminée au niveau national (INDC) pour la COP21 à Paris en 2015, engagements réaffirmés lors de la Conférence de Marrakech (COP 22) en 2016. Un engagement à préserver l’environnement qui s’est en réalité manifesté très tôt, avec la création dès 1960 d’un fonds forestier et en 1972 d’un Ministère de la protection de l’environnement.

 

Dans un contexte de raréfaction des ressources pétrolières, l’utilisation et la valorisation économique des ressources renouvelables issues des forêts constitue un enjeu majeur pour le Gabon, qui s’est engagé à :

  • Réduire l’exploitation de ses forêts à 11 millions d’ha en 2025, contre 16 en 2018.
  • Réduire de 50 % les émissions de gaz à effets de serre du secteur de l’utilisation des terres, changement de l’utilisation des terres et des forêts du Gabon (2005-2025)
  • Accompagner le développement de projets dans des secteurs clés pour le renforcement de l’économie de la région, en offrant une alternative viable à la déforestation : amélioration des voies navigables, construction de petits barrages hydroélectriques, renforcement des systèmes d’irrigation des sols, développement de la pêche, de la pisciculture, de l’aquaculture et développement de l’écotourisme.
  • Obliger les exploitants à mettre en place des plans d’aménagement des forêts de production et pousser les forestiers à étendre leurs rotations de 15 ans à 25 ans, avec des taux de dégâts inférieurs, au lieu de 10 ans (Code Forestier de 2001).

 

Pour ce faire, le Gabon a initié :

  • La création, au début des années 2000, de 13 parcs nationaux qui ont permis de sanctuariser 3 millions d’hectares de forêt, soit 11 % du territoire national.
  • Un Plan National Climat, volet climat du Plan Stratégique Gabon Émergent, élaboré au sortir de la Conférence de Copenhague en 2010 et entré en vigueur en novembre 2013. Ce Plan, formulé par le Conseil National Climat du Gabon, décline les stratégies de développement à court et moyen terme des secteurs d’activités ayant un fort impact sur les changements climatiques, les stratégies sectorielles de maîtrise des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, ainsi que la stratégie d’adaptation du territoire aux effets des changements climatiques (élévation du niveau des mers).
  • La création, en 2014 d’un Fonds de développement durable pour financer la réalisation de programmes et projets conformes aux principes du développement durable.
  • La création, en 2014, d’une Direction centrale de l’environnement dans chaque ministère.
Engagement économique

En permettant au Gabon d’orienter son développement agricole vers les zones possédant la plus faible valeur de carbone et de conservation, la politique d’affectation des terres du pays vient garantir la compatibilité entre territoires, ressources et activités socio-économiques :

  • Un des principaux objectifs du Plan Stratégique Gabon Émergent est de mener le pays à l’autosuffisance alimentaire : en 2020, grâce au programme Graine (Gabonaise des réalisations agricoles et des initiatives des nationaux engagés), près de 850 coopératives ont été constituées, 400 agriculteurs indépendants enregistrés, 1 148 emplois créés et 2 600 agriculteurs formés.
  • L’optimisation de la gestion des terres vient directement soutenir le développement de certains secteurs stratégiques pour le pays, notamment les secteurs agricole, forestier, minier et pétrolier.
Engagement social

La politique d’affectation des terres du Gabon, via le PNAT et le SNORNF, vise la reconnaissance et la défense des droits des populations sur les terres, grâce à :

  • Un dispositif transparent et équitable qui s’adresse à l’ensemble des populations concernées par l’affectation des terres au Gabon : un travail en étroite collaboration avec les acteurs de la société civile du pays, particulièrement ceux engagés pour la préservation de l’environnement.
  • Un outil d’aide à la décision gouvernementale qui permet d’identifier et de sécuriser le domaine foncier rural, et ainsi d’éviter les conflits d’affectation des terres et l’expropriation des populations locales et autochtones.
  • Un programme inclusif qui s’adresse particulièrement aux femmes, aux jeunes et aux populations vulnérables, en les impliquant dans l’ensemble du processus de sollicitation et de contribution.
  • L’élaboration d’une cartographie participative afin de permettre de sécuriser le foncier rural des populations rurales et autochtones.
Sauvegarde - participation des populations

Partenaires

institutionnel

institutionnel

Financiers

Mise en oeuvre